Awards for Visual Arts 2006

10th November 2006

Winners of The Paul Hamlyn Foundation Awards for Visual Arts 2006

9 November 2006

The five winners of this year's Paul Hamlyn Foundation Awards for Visual Arts are: Gerard Byrne, Gareth Jones, Gustav Metzger, Horace Ové and Olivia Plender

The awards are open to artists of all ages and this year two of the winning artists have been a part of the British arts scene since the 1950s. Legendary underground artist Gustav Metzger came to the UK on the Kindertransport. From the auto-destruct paintings of the 1960s to installations that force the viewer to confront images of Auschwitz or highlight the emissions from cars, Metzger's work  has been committed to political and ecological issues for over 40 years.

Horace Ové , a photographer born in Trinidad in 1936, has been photographing the Black British community since the 1950s. From images of the early days of the Notting Hill Carnival to rare shots of Michael X, the British Black Power Movement and John Lennon, Ové's images have captured key historical and political moments in the lives of the Black diaspora in London.

Younger generation artists Gerard Byrne, Gareth Jones and Olivia Plender employ film and photography, sculpture and performance respectively.

All five artists will each receive £30,000 spread over a period of three years.

Since 1998, the Foundation has invested over £1 million in the visual arts through its Awards scheme.  From Anya Gallaccio and Tomma Abts to Simon Starling and Phil Collins, an impressive range of artists have been recipients of the Foundation's Awards, reflecting the enormous diversity and range of visual arts in practice today. The Awards are made according to talent, promise and need as well as achievement.  Each year 20 nominators put forward the names of artists who live or work in the UK or Ireland. Submissions from the artists are then considered by a distinguished panel of judges.

This year's judges are:
Jeremy Deller
, artist; Dr Mark Godfrey, art historian, critic, curator and lecturer at The Slade School of Fine Art, University College London; Caoimhín Mac Giolla Léith, critic, curator and senior lecturer at University College Dublin; Jessica Morgan, curator of contemporary art, Tate Modern and Jane Hamlyn , Chair of the Paul Hamlyn Foundation.

This year's nominators are:
The Artists - Clio Barnard, Martin Creed, Jacqueline Donachie, Factotum, Isaac Julien, Marc Quinn, Michael Raedecker, Matt Stokes and Mark Wallinger; Michael Archer, writer and tutor at The Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art, Oxford; Jon Bewley , Director, Locus +, Newcastle-upon-Tyne; Roger Malbert, Senior Curator, National Touring Exhibitions, Hayward Gallery; Sarah Munro, Director, Collective Gallery, Edinburgh; Sally O'Reilly, writer and lecturer; James Putman, Curator, Writer; Ralph Rugoff, Director, Hayward Gallery; Matthew Slotover, Editor, Frieze; Katherine Stout, Assistant Curator, Tate Britain;  Rachel Thomas, Head of Exhibitions, Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin; Tom Trevor, Director, Arnolfini, Bristol; Felicity Sparrow , writer.

Notes to editors:
Paul Hamlyn was a publisher and philanthropist, committed to widening participation in the arts and education, particularly for young people. He established the Foundation in 1987 for general charitable purposes and at his death in 2001 he bequeathed the majority of his estate to the Foundation so that it tripled in size to become one of the UK's largest grant-giving organizations. Through three main programmes: Arts, Education & Learning and Social Justice, the Foundation funds UK organizations whose charitable activities help people to realise their potential and have a better quality of life. The Foundation also has a separate programme for India.
Information about the Foundation's current grants and special projects is available throughout the website:

For further information please contact Penny Sychrava PR:
Previous winners of The Paul Hamlyn Awards for Visual Arts:

Clio Barnard
Ian Breakwell
Jacqueline Donachie
Michael Landy

Tomma Abts
Roderick Buchanan
Lucy Gunning
Graham Gussin
Bedwyr Williams

Martin Boyce
Siobhán Hapaska
Nick Relph and Oliver Payne
Giorgio Sadotti
Cathy Wilkes

Bank (Simon Bedwell and Milly Thompson)
David Burrows
Adam Chodzko
Ceal Floyer  
Richard Wilson

Brenda Beban
Brian Catling
Phil Collins
Jeremy Deller
Mike Nelson

Philippe Bradshaw
Jim Lambie
Hilary Lloyd
Hew Locke
Paul Noble

Zarina Bhimji
Juan Cruz
Rose English
Anya Gallaccio
Simon Starling

Brighid Lowe
Yinka Shonibare
Ross Sinclair
Gary Stevens
Richard Wright