Awards for Artists recipients announced

10th November 2010

This year's Paul Hamlyn Foundation Awards for Artists recipients were announced on Wednesday 10 November at a reception in London.

Three composers and five visual artists were selected to receive the £45,000 prize to support them at critical moments of their careers and enable their artistic development. This year's selected visual artists are Angela de la Cruz, Luke Fowler, Christina Mackie, Ben Rivers and Lindsay Seers. The composers are Anna Meredith, Jason Yarde and David Fennessy.

Held at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the reception marked the culmination of the latest Awards for Artists selection process. Nominators selected from across the arts world put forward the names of up to five artists who live and practise in the UK. Nominated artists were then invited to submit an application which was considered by judges.

Since the first Awards for Artists in 1994, the scheme has supported over 90 individuals with total funding in excess of £3 million. Awards carry no obligations and are intended to allow recipients to work unhindered by financial constraint. They are made according to talent, promise and need.

You can listen to coverage of the reception, provided by Resonance FM, on this website. The programme includes a speech made by Guardian journalist Charlotte Higgins on Awards for Artists in the context of funding cuts to the arts. A video version of the speech is also available.          

For a full list of judges and nominators, as well as profiles of the selected artists, visit the PHF Awards for Artists microsite.

Awards for Artists microsite
PHF Arts programme
Awards for Artists 2010 reception coverage